Employee Benefit Trust

Employee Benefit Trust Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of two appointed individuals from the AWC Board of Directors, the chair and vice chair of the Employee Benefits Advisory Committee, and four regional trustee positions, who are comprised of elected officials within the Trust membership.

Trustee regions

BOTGlennJohnsonChair & Southeast Region Trustee
Glenn Johnson
Mayor, Pullman

KnaussVice Chair & AWC Board Trustee
Dorothy Knauss
Mayor, Chewelah

BOTPaulSchmidtNortheast Region Trustee
Paul Schmidt
Councilmember, Cheney

BOTJulieStruckNorthwest Region Trustee
Julie Struck
Mayor, South Bend

BOTNeilJohnsonSouthwest Region Trustee
Neil Johnson, Jr.
Mayor, Bonney Lake

PrattAWC Board Trustee
Cynthia Pratt
Deputy Mayor, Lacey

BOTEmilySchuhEBAC Chair
Emily Schuh
Administrative Services Director, Anacortes

BOTJenniferGorsuchEBAC Vice Chair
Jennifer Gorsuch
Administrative Services Director, Camas

Elections and nominations

Regional Trustee positions are elected by mayors and serve 3-year terms. Nominations & elections occur annually starting in May. Terms begin July 1.

What is the Employee Benefit Trust Board of Trustees?

The AWC Trust is an association health plan comprised of 275+ municipalities and quasi-municipal entities. The Board of Trustees is the governing authority of the AWC Trust and the Health Care Program, and has a fiduciary obligation to administer the Fund on behalf of the contributing members. Regional Trustees serve a three-year term running from July 1 to June 30.

Frequency of meetings

The Board of Trustees meets approximately three to four times per year in the SeaTac area. Additionally, Trust learning and strategic planning retreats are held every two to three years.


The AWC Trust pays all expenses associated with travel to and from meetings, including transportation, meals and lodging. However, the time spent away from city hall and/or your professional occupation to attend the meetings is not reimbursed.

Nomination process

Any mayor of a city/town who is a member of the Employee Benefit Trust may nominate a candidate for consideration (including self-nomination).

Nominee requirements
The nominee must be an elected official from a city/town that participates in one of the Trust’s core medical benefit plans, including Regence BlueShield/Asuris Northwest Health, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Washington Options, Inc., or any other core medical benefit plan adopted by the Trustees.

Should a BOT member’s participating city/town cease to participate in the Trust’s core benefit plan, the term of appointment will expire at the end of the month the core benefit coverage is terminated.

Due to the significant amount of education and time that a new Trustee must commit to its fiduciary role, candidates are strongly encouraged to have a two or three-year term left in elected office.

Non-city entities are not eligible to serve on the Board of Trustees.

Election process

Ballots for nominated candidates are sent in May via regular mail to mayors of Trust participating cities/towns.

Copyright © 2018-2020 Association of Washington Cities