Data & Resources

Published on Jun 19, 2019

Civic Service Awards

Contact: Karen Tanner

Each year, AWC recognizes city officials retiring after 20 or more years of service to cities.

Congratulations to the following for their years of service:

Sheila Bazzar – 38+ years
Finance Director, Buckley

Lea Bishop – 38 years
Parks Facility/Program Manager, Kent

Kathleen Cahall – 27 years
Water Resources Manager, Bremerton

Jerry Cummins – 28 years
Councilmember, Walla Walla

Jim Doherty – 25 years
Legal Manager, MRSC

Tim Dreyer – 29+ years
Police Officer, Woodway

Doug Hansen – 38 years
Commander, Mountlake Terrace

Micki Harnois – 20 years
Planner, Chelan, Spokane County, Spokane Valley

Steve Holt – 30 years
Police Patrol Officer, Kent

Jim Iles – 42 years
City Attorney, Everett

Leland Kerr – 38 years
City Attorney, Benton City

Raymond D. King – 40 years
City Administrator, Newport

Dave Koenig – 39 years
Planning Director, Marysville

Robert E. Miller – 42 years
Code Enforcement Officer, Kent

Pam Mottram – 21 years
Planning Technician, Kent

Lynn Nordby – 45+ years
Public Policy and Management Consultant, MRSC

Diana Pistoll – 20 years
Public Works Program Project Manager, Maple Valley

James Rackley – 20 years
Councilmember, Bonney Lake

William Rathbone – 40 years
Community Development Director, Toppenish

John Sayers – 23 years
Mayor, Napavine

Eric Shields – 40 years
Planning & Building Director, Kirkland

Stan Strebel – 43 years
Deputy City Manager, Pasco

David Timmons – 43 years
City Manager, Port Townsend

Larry Turner – 25 years
Public Works Director, Connell

Elaine Valencia – 44 years
Executive Assistant to the Mayor, Bremerton

James Webb – 33 years
Equipment Operator, Centralia

Know of someone retiring? Let us know!

Elected officials, city managers and administrators, city clerks, senior department directors, and city attorneys who will retire in 2019 are eligible.

Send an email with the following information:

  • Name
  • Title
  • Jurisdiction
  • Number of years served
  • Retirement date

The deadline for notifying AWC of eligible city officials is June 5, 2019.

Each retiring official will be listed in the AWC Annual Conference program, on the AWC website, and in CityVoice, AWC’s electronic newsletter.

  • Data & Resources
  • Awards
Copyright © 2018-2020 Association of Washington Cities