About us

Published on Aug 04, 2020

Association of Washington Cities announces recently elected officers and directors

Contact: Brian Daskam

OLYMPIA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC) announced officials from Washington’s cities and towns that were recently elected new officers and directors to the AWC Board of Directors. AWC held Board elections at the association’s Business Meeting, which took place on June 25.

In addition to officers, even-numbered district positions on the Board, as well as At-Large District #1, were up for election.

AWC officers for 2020-2021 are:

  • President: Soo Ing-Moody, Mayor, Twisp
  • Vice President: Kent Keel, Councilmember, University Place
  • Secretary: Candace Mumm, Councilmember, Spokane
  • Immediate Past President: Ed Stern, Councilmember, Poulsbo
  • Past President: Don Britain, Mayor, Kennewick
  • Large City Representative/District 10: Keith Blocker, Deputy Mayor, Tacoma

New and reelected directors are:

  • District 2: Chuck Torelli, Councilmember, Kennewick*
  • District 4: Jose Trevino, Mayor, Granger
  • District 6: Cynthia Pratt, Deputy Mayor, Lacey
  • District 8: Jon Nehring, Mayor, Marysville
  • District 12: Rob Putaansuu, Mayor, Port Orchard
  • District 14: Jill Boudreau, Mayor, Mount Vernon*
  • At-Large # 1: Amy Ockerlander, Mayor, Duvall*
  • At-Large #2: Jerry Phillips, Mayor, Long Beach
  • At-Large #4: Dorothy Knauss, Mayor, Chewelah

* Denotes newly elected director

“The AWC Board is excited to continue the work to make Washington’s cities and towns healthy, vital, safe, and sustainable,” said President Soo Ing-Moody. “Unprecedented and challenging times require open hearts, minds, and conversation to solve complex issues through innovative and inclusive approaches. As president, I look forward to helping raise the visibility of the needs of our cities—no matter the size.”

“The voice of the AWC Board is clear, direct, and resolute,” added Vice President Kent Keel. “AWC is on a great path, and I am committed to helping complete the important work we have begun.”

The AWC Board of Directors is the association’s governing body. The Board is comprised of 25 directors, 23 of whom are elected officials (mayors or councilmembers) from Washington cities, and two non-elected city officials who also serve as the president and past president of the Washington City/County Management Association.

AWC serves its members through advocacy, education, and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch, and with regulatory agencies. Membership is voluntary. However, AWC consistently maintains 100 percent participation from Washington’s 281 cities and towns.

AWC also provides training, data and publications, and programs such as the AWC Employee Benefit Trust, AWC Risk Management Service Agency, AWC Workers’ Comp Retro, AWC Drug and Alcohol Consortium, and AWC GIS Consortium.

A complete list of AWC Board of Directors is available on the association’s website.


Media contact:
Brian Daskam
Communications Manager
Association of Washington Cities
(360) 753-4137

  • Media releases
Copyright © 2018-2020 Association of Washington Cities