Published on Jan 01, 2018

Seeking nominations for AWC's legislative City Champion Award!

Contact: Dave Williams

CityChampionAwardAWC’s City Champion Awards acknowledge the hard work and dedication of legislators who championed critical city issues during the legislative session.

Congratulations 2017 City Champions!

Rep. Kristine Lytton (D-Anacortes) is recognized for her leadership in pursuing and enacting broad-based internet sales tax legislation, a long-standing priority for cities and business interests across the state, and for her efforts to simplify the business licensing process.

Rep. Joan McBride (D-Kirkland) and Rep. Terry Nealey (R-Dayton) are recognized for the second year running for their outstanding leadership and guidance working with stakeholders to pass legislation that modernized the Public Records Act.

Rep. Nicole Macri (D-Seattle) and Rep. Andrew Barkis (R-Olympia) are recognized for their advocacy for and efforts to increase the availability of affordable housing in a variety of situations and communities.

Sen. Sharon Brown (R-Kennewick) is recognized for her advocacy and leadership to help pass legislation that streamlines the administration of local business licensing while ensuring cities maintain local control, and for her support for local economic development tools.

Sen. Reuven Carlyle (D-Seattle) and Sen. Tim Sheldon (D-Potlatch) are recognized for their leadership in advocating for the expansion of broadband to our state’s rural communities, and advocating for local control and responsible use of the public right-of-way when siting and regulating telecommunication facilities.

See the press release

Copyright © 2018 Association of Washington Cities