# Association of Washington Cities Risk Management Service Agency

# Annual Meeting Minutes Tuesday, October 8, 2024 Campbell's Resort, Centennial Ballroom, Chelan, WA 7 pm

## Present:

## **Board of Directors:**

President & Position 7 - Julie Struck, Mayor, South Bend Vice President & Position 6 – Micki Harnois, Councilmember, Rockford Position 2 – Matthew Schuh, Councilmember, Bridgeport Position 3 – Rob Putaansuu, Mayor, Port Orchard Position 5 – Stefany Smith Mayor, Springdale

## **Operating Committee:**

Chair & Position 8 - Brenda Martinez, City Clerk/HR Manager, Black Diamond Vice Chair & Position 6 – Karen Bennett, HR Manager, Yelm Position 1 – Brent Kirk, City Manager, Granite Falls Position 2 – Jim Zumini, City Clerk/Treasurer, Rock Island Position 3 - Dave Vorse, Public Works Director, Castle Rock Position 4 - Tanya Dashiell, Assistant City Clerk/Treasurer, Airway Heights Position 5 – Raena Hallam, City Clerk/Treasurer, Kettle Falls Position 9 - Ariana Cruz, Deputy Clerk, Bridgeport

## **Staff Present:**

Deanna Dawson, Chief Executive Officer Alicia Seegers Martinelli, Deputy Chief Executive Officer Gene Emmans, Chief Financial Officer Carol Wilmes, Director, Member Pooling Programs Andrea Luper, Program Director Ashley Jones, Claims and Pre-Litigation Manager Anthony Vasquez, Senior Claims Coordinator Henry Dietz, Risk Management Coordinator Shaylee Dipo, Membership Coordinator Betsy Hildreth, Recording Secretary

## Absent:

Board Position 1 – Dee Roberts, Mayor, Raymond Board Position 4 – Mike Reuter, Mayor, Kalama Operating Committee Position 7 – Brandy Wallace, City Clerk, Port Orchard

#### **Guests:**

Corey Kaufman, General Manger, US West with VC3 Erin Peterson, Senior Program Specialist, NLC RISC Niles Kostick, Manger, Center of Government Innovation, Washington State Auditor's Office

### 1.1 Call to Order and Presidents Welcome

Risk Management Service Agency (RMSA) Board President Julie Struck called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm, welcomed the membership and thanked the AWC RMSA Board of Directors and Operating Committee for their service.

President Struck introduced AWC's Chief Executive Officer Deanna Dawson and Director of Member Pooling Programs Carol Wilmes.

## 1.2 Welcome from the Association of Washington Cities

Ms. Dawson welcomed the membership to the Annual Meeting and preceding Member Expo. Ms. Dawson introduced AWC's Director of Member Pooling Programs, Carol Wilmes.

### 1.3 Welcome from the Director

Ms. Wilmes provided an overview of the AWC RMSA Program and introduced staff members. She also welcomed and thanked RMSA vendors and AWC RMSA's General Counsel, Charles H. "Skip" Houser III. Special recognition was given to RMSA Operating Committee member Brandy Wallace and David Vorse for their years of service to the Operating Committee.

Ms. Wilmes introduced Henry Dietz, RMSA Risk Management Coordinator, to introduce the guest panelists; Corey Kaufman, General Manager, US West and VC3, Erin Peterson, Senior Program Specialist, NLC RISC, and Niles Kostick, Manager for the Center of Government Innovation with the Washington State Auditor's Office to share their guidance on the topic of cyber security.

2. Guest Speaker

#### 2.1 Cyber resilience: emerging threats and attainable solutions

The guest panelists engaged in a panel discussion moderated by Mr. Dietz.

Ms. Peterson acknowledged AWC RMSA's participation in the cyber pilot with an award to staff.

#### 3. Business

## 3.1 <u>State of the Pool</u>

Ms. Luper gave a brief overview of the AWC RMSA's coverages, financial status, claims status, loss prevention programs and member services 2024 accomplishments, and anticipated initiatives for 2025.

#### 4. Other Business

## 4.1 **Operating Committee Elections**

Ms. Luper gave an overview of the Operating Committee elections process and introduced the 2024 Operating Committee candidates. Ms. Luper noted that this year's elections are being held for the Committee's odd-numbered positions and those who are elected will serve a two-year term on the Committee. In August and September, members were requested to submit nominations for the five open positions.

The following candidates were on the ballot for the open positions:

Position 1 – Brent Kirk, City Manager, Granite Falls Position 3 – Erin Mitchell DeBerg, HR Manager/Emergency Coordinator, North Bend Position 5 – Raena Hallam, City Clerk/Treasurer, Kettle Falls Position 7 – Vacant Position 9 – Ariana Cruz, Deputy Clerk/Treasurer, Bridgeport

Positions 1, 5, and 9 are incumbents, either elected in 2022, or appointed to fill vacant spots in the interim.

There was no motion from the floor to add additional nominees to the slate of current candidates.

President Struck asked for a motion from the floor to elect the slate of candidates to the RMSA Operating Committee.

#### Motion:

A motion was made from the floor to elect the slate of candidates, motion was seconded from the floor, motion carried.

#### 4.2 <u>2024 Award Recipients</u>

Ms. Luper explained the awards criteria to the membership, noting this year's awards focus on improvements in members' liability loss experience.

Ms. Luper presented awards for the following categories: Risk management achievement and claims improvement champion.

Ms. Luper congratulated the 2024 RMSA award recipients.

#### 4.3 2024 AWC RMSA Annual Meeting location

President Struck announced the 2025 AWC RMSA Annual Meeting would take place on October 7 in Chelan in conjunction with AWC Member Expo October 8-9.

#### 5. Adjournment

#### 5.1 <u>Adjourn</u>

President Struck adjourned the meeting at 8:31 pm.

The foregoing minutes were approved by the Operating Committee on <u>12/11/2024</u>

Date

Julie Struck 160489494BE4488

Signed by:

President

AT DEcisioned by: Betsy Hildreth

**Recording Secretary**