



1076 Franklin Street SE • Olympia, WA 98501-1346

March 6, 2023

Honorable Members of the House of Representatives,

We respectfully request that you pass the Affordable Homes Act (**HB 1628**), making a significant investment to expand the availability of affordable housing in our cities. The demand for secure and affordable housing is severe across the state, particularly for low and moderate-income households. With more and more families struggling to find affordable housing options, it is imperative that each level of government take decisive action and invest in housing. With rising housing costs, population growth, and chronic underproduction, the shortage of affordable housing is making homelessness a growing concern for many families.

The lack of affordable housing options is an issue that affects not only the well-being of individuals and families, but the health and vitality of our communities. We believe that all levels of government play a critical role in addressing the housing crisis. The Affordable Homes Act is a key step towards meeting the housing needs of all Washingtonians—helping the state to close the gap of 500,000 low-income homes by 2044 that the private market will not supply.

The Affordable Homes Act aims to increase the supply of affordable housing and offers jurisdictions the option to establish a local funding source dedicated to affordable housing. A local funding source is critical and can make affordable housing projects more competitive to receive other state, federal, and private funds to support housing development and operations. The ongoing housing crisis requires a comprehensive solution and large-scale investments in housing to make a meaningful difference in the lives of Washington residents.

We urge you to allow us to do our part in making a significant and positive impact on the lives of individuals and families in our cities by supporting **HB 1628**.

Sincerely,

Albert Tripp, City Manager, Airway Heights
Carolyn Moulton, Councilmember, Anacortes
Debora Nelson, Councilmember, Arlington
Nancy Backus, Mayor, Auburn
Lynne Robinson, Mayor, Bellevue
Seth Fleetwood, Mayor, Bellingham
Mason Thompson, Mayor Bothell
Greg Wheeler, Mayor, Bremerton
Jeff Coughlin, Councilmember, Bremerton
James Fletcher, Mayor, Cashmere
Bob Goedde, Mayor, Chelan
Mike Rizzitiello, City Administrator, College Place
Regan Bolli, City Manager, Covington

Michael Mattias, City Manager, Des Moines
Kathleen Allstot, Councilmember, Ephrata
Denice Kulseth, City Administrator, Friday Harbor
Mary Lou Pauly, Mayor, Issaquah
Angela Kugler, Councilmember, Kenmore
David Baker, Councilmember, Kenmore
Nigel Herbig, Mayor, Kenmore
Jay Arnold, Deputy Mayor, Kirkland
Kelli Curtis, Councilmember, Kirkland
Neal Black, Councilmember, Kirkland
Anne Hessburg, Mayor Pro Tem, Leavenworth
Carl Florea, Mayor, Leavenworth
Clint Strand, Councilmember, Leavenworth





1076 Franklin Street SE • Olympia, WA 98501-1346

Zeke Reister, Councilmember, Leavenworth Marco Aurilio, Councilmember, Leavenworth Tom Sahlberg, Councilmember, Liberty Lake Sue Svendsen, Mayor Pro Tem, Long Beach Salim Nice, Mayor, Mercer Island Shanna Styron Sherrell, Mayor, Milton Linda Newing, Mayor, Newcastle Scott Pingel, City Manager, Newcastle Cheryl Selby, Mayor, Olympia Joshua Penner, Mayor, Orting Adam Lincoln, City Manager, Pasco Kate Dexter, Mayor, Port Angeles Rob Putaansuu, Mayor, Port Orchard Amy Howard, Deputy Mayor, Port Townsend Monica MickHager, Councilmember, Port Townsend Steve King, City Manager, Port Townsend Ed Stern, Councilmember, Poulsbo Rebecca Erickson, Mayor, Poulsbo Angela Birney, Mayor, Redmond Armondo Pavone, Mayor, Renton Kristi Rowland, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Renton

Ron Onslow, Councilmember, Ridgefield

Bruce Harrell, Mayor, Seattle Teresa Mosqueda, Councilmember, Seattle Keith Scully, Mayor, Shoreline Linda Redmon, Mayor, Snohomish Rob Wotton, Councilmember, Snoqualmie Betsy Wilkerson, Councilmember, Spokane Breean Beggs, Councilmember, Spokane Zack Zappone, Councilmember, Spokane Victoria Woodards, Mayor, Tacoma Debbie Zabell, City Manager, Toppenish Allan Ekberg, Mayor, Tukwila Cynthia Delostrinos Johnson, Councilmember, Tukwila Kathy Hougardy, Councilmember, Tukwila Kent Keel, Councilmember, University Place Eric Holmes, City Manager, Vancouver Randy Hinchliffe, City Administrator, Waitsburg Elizabeth Chamberlain, City Manager, Walla Walla Fred Brink, Mayor Pro Tem, West Richland Kate Moran, Councilmember, West Richland Marla Keethler, Mayor, White Salmon Holly Cousens, Councilmember, Yakima Michael Grayum, City Administrator, Zillah