

Members of the Washington State Legislature:

We write to urge you to pass **SB 5770** to revise the arbitrary 1% property tax cap that has been in place for more than 20 years—over a generation. Due to this cap being lower than inflation, cities are struggling to keep up with rising costs of providing basic community services like police, fire, parks, and streets.

We ask you to support the modest increase to the cap in **SB 5770**. This proposal ties the property tax cap to population growth and inflation up to 3%, a modest change that is more reflective of the last decade's average 3% inflationary growth in the Consumer Price Index (CPI).

We understand the reluctance to act on taxes; however, our residents need city funding options to keep up with our growing communities' needs and rising costs for services. **SB 5770** provides a tool that would give elected city officials the ability to determine whether and when to use it for their community's best interests.

Without a change, local governments can't sustain public safety and other basic services to keep up with our residents' needs. In fact:

- In 2001: Cities had 1 employee to serve every 80 city residents; and
- In 2022: Cities had 1 employee to serve every 110 city residents.

For a generation, local governments have managed to find band-aid solutions to cover this structural deficit while being called on to do more with less—but we are at the tipping point.

Allowing local elected officials to raise their property tax revenues by up to 3% per year puts the decisionmaking power back into our communities. Local elected officials have a high rate of trust among their constituents, and they are immediately accountable to the voters. Legislative action on this issue in 2024 isn't an automatic tax increase. Instead, it allows for thoughtful local debate and discussion about what will work best for each city.

Now is the time for this change. Cities must continue to provide these important services and cannot wait another 20 years or shift the burden of finding a solution onto the next generation.

Please pass SB 5770.

Sincerely,

Liz Ellis, Councilmember, Aberdeen Davin Perry, Councilmember, Airway Heights Troy Linnell, Mayor, Algona Carolyn Moulton, Mayor Pro Tem, Anacortes Don E. Vanney, Mayor, Arlington Nancy Backus, Mayor, Auburn Larry Brown, Deputy Mayor, Auburn Michael Lilliquist, Councilmember, Bellingham Debbie Page, Councilmember, Black Diamond Carol Benson, Mayor, Black Diamond Leih Mulvihill, Councilmember, Black Diamond Tamie Deady, Mayor Pro Tem, Black Diamond Tammy Jeffries, Executive Assistant, Bremerton Valerie Rosman, Councilmember, Brier Hisham Othman, Councilmember, Brier Courtney Brunell, City Administrator, Buckley Denice Bergerson, Councilmember, Buckley Adolfo Bailon, City Manager, Burien Kevin Schilling, Mayor, Burien Jimmy Matta, Councilmember, Burien Alex Andrade, Councilmember, Burien Hugo Garcia, Councilmember, Burien Sarah Moore, Councilmember, Burien Alex Andrade, Councilmember, Burien Linda Akey, Councilmember, Burien Steve Hogan, Mayor, Camas Jim Ribail, Mayor, Carnation Adair Hawkins, Deputy Mayor, Carnation Ryan Burrell, Councilmember, Carnation Brodie Nelson, Councilmember, Carnation Jessica Merizan, Councilmember, Carnation Ana Cortez, City Manager, Carnation James Fletcher, Mayor, Cashmere Chris Grover, Mayor, Cheney Bruce Nupp II, Councilmember, Chewelah Steve Friedman, Mayor, Clyde Hill Blaine Golden, Councilmember, Colfax Norma Hernandez, Mayor, College Place Mike Rizzitiello, City Administrator, College Place Cathleen Koch, City Administrator, Connell Darrin C. Raines, City Administrator, Cosmopolis Linda Springer, Mayor, Cosmopolis Jeff Wagner, Mayor, Covington Smith, Mayor Pro Tem, Covington Traci Buxton, Mayor, Des Moines Beth Elliott, Councilmember, DuPont Michael Winkler, Deputy Mayor, DuPont Carma Oaksmith, Finance Director, DuPont Jerrilea Crawford, Mayor, East Wenatchee Diane Kohout, Mayor, Electric City Cassie Franklin, Mayor, Everett Scott Bader, Councilmember, Everett Paula Rhyne, Councilmember, Everett Don Schwab, Councilmember, Everett Judy Tuohy, Councilmember, Everett Ben Zarlingo, Councilmember, Everett Herb Porter, Mayor Pro Tem, Ferndale Derek Matheson, City Manager, Fife Kim Roscoe, Mayor, Fife David Rodenbach, Finance Director, Gig Harbor Jeni Woock, Councilmember, Gig Harbor Tracie Markley, Mayor, Gig Harbor

Charles R. Lie, Mayor Pro Tem, Gold Bar Lindsey Walsh, Councilmember, Issaguah Andrew Hamilton, City Manager, Kelso Nigel Herbig, Mayor, Kenmore Debra Srebnik, Councilmember, Kenmore Valerie Sasson, Councilmember, Kenmore Chuck Torelli, Mayor Pro Tem, Kennewick Dana Ralph, Mayor, Kent Kelli Curtis, Mayor, Kirkland Neal Black, Councilmember, Kirkland Amy Falcone, Councilmember, Kirkland Jay Arnold, Deputy Mayor, Kirkland Penny Sweet, Councilmember, Kirkland MaryLee Chamberlain, Councilmember, La Conner Tom French, Mayor, Lake Forest Park Lorri Bodi, Deputy Mayor, Lake Forest Park Tracy Furutani, Councilmember, Lake Forest Park Larry Goldman, Councilmember, Lake Forest Park Semra Riddle, Councilmember, Lake Forest Park Carl Florea, Mayor, Leavenworth Sue Svendsen, Mayor, Long Beach David Glasson, City Administrator, Long Beach Kristina Swanson, City Manager, Longview Salim Nice, Mayor, Mercer Island Tara Leininger, Mayor, Metaline Falls Shanna Styron Sherrell, Mayor, Milton Shanna Styron Sherrell, Mayor, Milton Madeline Prentice, Finance Director, Moses Lake Peter Donovan, Mayor, Mount Vernon Ivan Wiediger, Councilmember, Napavine Abby Gribi, City Administrator, Newport Kevin Hester, Mayor, Nooksack Amy Arrington, City Manager, Normandy Park Susan J. West, Councilmember, Normandy Park Sheri Healey, Councilmember, Normandy Park Eric Zimmerman, Mayor, Normandy Park Clark Gilman, Councilmember, Olympia Yen Huynh, Mayor Pro Tem, Olympia Vic Kave, Mayor, Pacific Amy Howard, Deputy Mayor, Port Townsend Ben Thomas, Councilmember, Port Townsend Doug Newell, Councilmember, Poulsbo Patrick Haley, City Administrator, Quincy Dee Roberts, Mayor, Raymond Gail E Daniels, Mayor, Reardan Jessica Forsythe, Council Vice President, Redmond Angela Birney, Mayor, Redmond Vanessa Kritzer, Council President, Redmond

Osman Salahuddin, Councilmember, Redmond Melissa Stuart, Councilmember, Redmond Valerie O'Halloran, Councilmember, Renton Kristi Rowland, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Renton

Ed Prince, Council President, Renton Theresa Richardson, Mayor, Richland Rob Aichele, Councilmember, Ridgefield Randy Agnew, Mayor, Rock Island James A. Zumini, Clerk/Treasurer, Rock Island Jim Hedrick, Councilmember, Ruston Iris Guzman, Deputy Mayor, SeaTac Dan Strauss, Councilmember, Seattle Eric Onisko, Mayor, Shelton Chris Roberts, Mayor, Shoreline Katherine Ross, Mayor, Snoqualmie Peter Sharp, Councilmember, Soap Lake Betsy Wilkerson, Councilmember, Spokane Heather Krauter, City Administrator, Sprague Lisa Sheppard, Clerk Treasurer, Springdale Paul Loveless, City Administrator, Steilacoom Kathy Hayden, Mayor, Sumner Jorge Galvan, Deputy Mayor, Sunnyside Victoria Woodards, Mayor, Tacoma

Kiara Daniels, Councilmember, Tacoma Catherine Ushka, Councilmember, Tacoma Eric Hayes, Mayor Pro Tem, Toledo Debbie Sullivan, Mayor, Tumwater Sharon Bounds, City Manager, Union Gap Edward Wood, Mayor Pro Tem, University Place Anne McEnerny-Ogle, Mayor, Vancouver Eric Holmes, City Manager, Vancouver Kim Harless, Councilmember, Vancouver Sarah Fox, Councilmember, Vancouver Ty Stober, Councilmember, Vancouver Randy Hinchliffe, City Administrator, Waitsburg Elizabeth Chamberlain, City Manager, Walla Walla Pamela Taylor, Human Resources Director, Walla Walla Ryan Wilson, Councilmember, Waverly Fred Brink, Mayor Pro Tem, West Richland

Marla Keethler, Mayor, White Salmon Patricia Fink, Councilmember, White Salmon Jim Ransier, Councilmember, White Salmon Sally Ranzau, Mayor, Winthrop John Burke, Councilmember, Woodland Katy Harris, Mayor, Yarrow Point