

April 18, 2024

- TO: Mayors City Councilmembers
- FROM: AWC Past President Rob Putaansuu, Mayor, Port Orchard Chair, 2024 Nominating Committee Chair

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform you of actions taken to date by the 2024 AWC Nominating Committee.

The purpose of the Nominating Committee is to compile a list of candidates for the AWC Board of Directors and to present the slate of candidates to the AWC general membership at the Business Meeting, June 20, 2024, in Vancouver, WA.

2024 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT – 2

The AWC Nominating Committee set the deadline of April 8, 2024 for applications from elected officials from Washington cities and towns interested in serving on the AWC Board of Directors.

During the April 18, 2024 meeting, the Committee reviewed the application materials submitted by candidates for the open officer and director positions on the AWC Board of Directors, as well as committee guidelines, candidate campaign guidelines, and interview questions. The Committee is forwarding candidates as follows:

President	Amy Ockerlander, Mayor, Duvall
Vice President	Fred Brink, Mayor Pro Tem, West Richland
Secretary	Jon Nehring, Mayor, Marysville
District 2	Blanche Barajas, Councilmember, Pasco David Fetto, Councilmember, West Richland Jillian Henze, Councilmember, Waitsburg No incumbent running for this position; the AWC Board forwarded incumbent for Vice President.
District 4	Matthew Lundh, Mayor, Cle Elum, <i>incumbent</i> Clifford Peterson, Councilmember, Selah
District 6	Ronald Frederick, Mayor, DuPont Josh Penner, Mayor, Orting, <i>incumbent</i>
District 8	Brett Gailey, Mayor, Lake Stevens Dan Rankin, Mayor, Darrington No incumbent running for this position; the AWC Board elected incumbent as Secretary.

District 12	Amy Howard, Deputy Mayor, Port Townsend, incumbent
District 14	Julia Johnson, Mayor, Sedro-Woolley, incumbent
At-Large #2 (Western >5,000 pop)	Dee Roberts, Mayor, Raymond, incumbent
At-Large #4 (Eastern >5,000 pop)	Hilda Gonzalez, Mayor, Granger Marla Keethler, Mayor, White Salmon, <i>incumbent</i>

For the positions of President and Vice President, the AWC Bylaws provide that the AWC Board forward the names of the current Vice President and Secretary to the Nominating Committee for nomination to the positions of President and Vice President, respectively. These individuals are then elected at the Business Meeting, with no additional nominations from the floor. The AWC Board of Directors took action on February 6, 2024 to forward Mayor Amy Ockerlander for President and Mayor Pro Tem Pred Brink for Vice President.

The Secretary of the corporation is elected each year by the Board from its own members. Due to Bylaws amendments adopted by the membership in 2023, the Secretary will no longer hold the dual role of district representative. On February 6, 2024, the AWC Board of Directors elected Mayor Jon Nehring, Marysville, as the next Secretary and he will assume this role at the Business Meeting on Thursday, June 20, 2024.

Additionally, the legislative body for Tacoma (District 10) will appoint their director to the respective single-city district. Tacoma Deputy Mayor John Hines will continue to serve as the District 10 representative.

To be eligible to serve on the AWC Board of Directors in a multi-city or at-large district an elected official must meet the following criteria: 1) Serve as an elected official from a member city or town located within an AWC Board District with an ending term in 2024; 2) Hold elective office in a city or town within the state for a minimum of one year; and 3) Meet the requirements for the Certificate of Municipal Leadership (CML) by the June 7, 2024.

With the exception of the offices of President, Vice President, and single city districts, the AWC Nominating Committee will forward at least two candidates for each position when the committee finds two candidates seeking such a position to be well qualified, willing, and able to perform the duties.

In the case where more than two qualified candidates are running for a particular board position, the candidates may be asked if they are willing to move to a different position on the ballot for which they qualify.

The AWC Nominating Committee will reconvene on Tuesday, June 18, 2024 to interview the candidates for open positions.

Individuals not applying for the AWC Board through the nominating process or not advanced to the ballot may run for a multi-city or at-large position directly from the floor during the Business Meeting on Thursday, June 20, 2024.

Nominating Committee Report #2 Page 3 April 18, 2024

AWC BUSINESS MEETING

The Business Meeting is scheduled for Thursday, June 20, 2024 from 4 pm to 5:45 pm, in Vancouver, WA. Voting delegates and AWC members will also be able to view the meeting online.

As directed by the AWC Nominating Committee, AWC staff will produce and distribute a summary of the Board of Director candidates, similar to a "voter's pamphlet." The pamphlet will be available at the Annual Conference, on the AWC website (wacities.org), and distributed to the voting delegates via email. AWC does not endorse any candidate and is simply providing delegates with background information on each candidate.

Candidates receive campaign guidelines when notified of the interview schedule. Candidates are advised to employ the highest of campaign standards. A campaign shall be based upon the candidates' professional qualifications to serve as a Board member and shall avoid disparaging comments, aspersions, personal denigration, or personal attacks on other candidates.

Every candidate on the ballot will have the opportunity to present a two-minute live, in-person speech before the general membership during the Business Meeting. Delegates will vote on the open director positions during the meeting.

2024 AWC BOARD NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The 2024 Board Nominating Committee consists of the following members appointed by AWC President Betsy Wilkerson.

Name	Title	City	AWC Board District
Rob Putaansuu	Mayor (Chair)	Port Orchard	12
Ed Stern	Councilmember (Vice Chair)	Poulsbo	12
Ben Wick	Councilmember (Secretary)	Spokane Valley	1
Tara Leininger	Mayor	Metaline Falls	1
Jennifer Lindsay	Mayor Pro Tem	Ridgefield	5
Mary Lou Pauly	Mayor	Issaquah	7
Ed Prince	Councilmember	Renton	13
Debbie Sullivan	Mayor	Tumwater	6
Chuck Torelli	Mayor Pro Tem	Kennewick	2

Attest:

ocuSigned by

April 18, 2024

Secretary

Date