

February 21, 2025

- TO: Mayors City Councilmembers
- FROM: Mayor Rob Putaansuu, City of Port Orchard AWC Past President & Nominating Committee Chair

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform you of actions taken to date by the 2025 AWC Nominating Committee and the AWC Board of Directors.

The Nominating Committee consists of the following members appointed by AWC President Amy Ockerlander.

Name	Title	City	AWC Board District
Rob Putaansuu (Chair)	Mayor & AWC Past President	Port Orchard	12
Francis Benjamin (Secretary)	Mayor	Pullman	2
Satwinder Kaur	Council President	Kent	13
Tara Leininger (Vice Chair)	Mayor	Metaline Falls	1
Erin McCardle	Mayor	Chelan	3
Erin Murray	Councilmember	Mountlake Terrace	8
Armondo Pavone	Mayor	Renton	13
Chris Roberts	Mayor	Shoreline	7
Julie Schilling	Councilmember	Union Gap	4
Ed Stern	Councilmember	Poulsbo	12

The purpose of the Nominating Committee is to compile a list of officer and director candidates for the AWC Board of Directors and to present the candidates to the AWC Business Meeting on June 26, in conjunction with the AWC Annual Conference in Kennewick.

## 2025 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT - 1

At its February 6, 2025 meeting, the Nominating Committee reviewed its guidelines, roles, and responsibilities and discussed the 2025 nominating procedures, process, and timeline. Mayor Rob Putaansuu is serving as Chair. The committee selected Mayor Tara Leininger as the Vice Chair; and Mayor Francis Benjamin as the Secretary.

Subject to AWC Board of Directors action, the Nominating Committee directed AWC staff to issue the call for applications for the following positions on the AWC Board with a term ending in June 2025:

- President
- Vice President
- District 1
- District 3
- District 4
- District 5
- District 6
- District 7
- District 13
- At-Large 1 (Western, greater than 5,000 population)
- At-Large 3 (Eastern, greater than 5,000 population)

According to the AWC Bylaws, the AWC Board of Directors forwards the names to the Nominating Committee for the positions of President and Vice President. The AWC Board of Directors took action on February 20, 2025 to forward Mayor Pro Tem Fred Brink for the position of President and Mayor Jon Nehring for the position of Vice President. At the same meeting, the AWC Board of Directors also elected the Secretary-elect Mayor Matthew Lundh.

Additionally, the term for Districts 9 and 11 will commence at the Business Meeting. District 9 is a single-city district with two positions appointed by the legislative body of the City of Spokane, and District 11 is a single-city district with one position, appointed by the legislative body of the City of Seattle.

The 2025 AWC Nominating Committee set a deadline of April 14, 2025, for applications from elected officials interested in applying to serve on the AWC Board of Directors. Individuals applying after the deadline must run for a position directly from the floor during the Business Meeting on Thursday, June 26, 2025.

The 2025 AWC Nominating Committee will reconvene on Tuesday, April 29, 2025 at 9 am, to review applications submitted by potential candidates for the open positions. The Nominating Committee will meet online.

Attest:

-Sianed by:

Francis Benjamin

2/21/2025

Secretary

Date