

1076 Franklin Street SE • Olympia, WA 98501-1346

February 6, 2024

TO: Mayors

City Councilmembers

FROM: Mayor Rob Putaansuu, City of Port Orchard

AWC Past President & Nominating Committee Chair

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform you of actions taken to date by the 2024 AWC Nominating Committee.

The Committee consists of the following members appointed by AWC President Betsy Wilkerson.

Name	Title	City	AWC Board District
Rob Putaansuu (Chair)	Mayor & AWC Past President	Port Orchard	12
Tara Leininger	Mayor	Metaline Falls	1
Jennifer Lindsay	Mayor Pro Tem	Ridgefield	5
Mary Lou Pauly	Mayor	Issaquah	7
Ed Prince	Councilmember	Renton	13
Ed Stern	Mayor Pro Tem	Poulsbo	12
Debbie Sullivan	Mayor	Tumwater	6
Chuck Torelli	Mayor Pro Tem	Kennewick	2
Ben Wick	Councilmember	Spokane Valley	1

The purpose of the Nominating Committee is to compile a list of officer and director candidates for the AWC Board of Directors and to present the candidates to the AWC Business Meeting on June 20, 2024 in conjunction with the AWC Annual Conference in Vancouver.

## 2024 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT - 1

AWC President Betsy Wilkerson appointed Port Orchard Mayor and AWC Past President Rob Putaansuu as the 2024 Nominating Committee Chair. The Nominating Committee reviewed its guidelines, roles, and responsibilities. The committee selected Mayor Pro Tem Ed Stern as the Vice Chair; and Councilmember Ben Wick as the Secretary. The committee discussed the 2024 nominating procedures, process, and timeline.

The Nominating Committee directed AWC staff to issue the call for applications for the following positions on the AWC Board with a term ending in 2024:

- President
- Vice President
- District #2
- District #4
- District #6
- District #8
- District #12
- District #14

Attest:

- At-Large #2 (Western, less than 5,000 population)
- At-Large #4 (Eastern, less than 5,000 population)

According to the AWC Bylaws, the AWC Board of Directors forwards the names to the Nominating Committee for the positions of President and Vice President. The AWC Board of Directors took action on February 6, 2024 to forward Mayor Amy Ockerlander for President and Mayor Pro Tem Fred Brink for Vice President. At the same meeting, the AWC Board of Directors also elected Mayor Jon Nehring as Secretary-elect.

The term for District 10 will also commence at the AWC Business Meeting. District 10 is a single-city district, appointed by the legislative body of the City of Tacoma.

The 2024 AWC Nominating Committee set a deadline of April 8, 2024 for applications from elected officials interested in applying to serve on the AWC Board of Directors. Individuals applying after the deadline must run for a position directly from the floor during the Business Meeting on Thursday, June 20, 2024.

The 2024 AWC Nominating Committee will reconvene on Thursday, April 18, 2024 at 10 am, to review applications submitted by potential candidates for the open positions. The Nominating Committee will meet online.

B. W.S.	2/6/2024
B0020C0546394C2	2/0/2024
Secretary	Date