2018 Legislative candidate questionnaire responses

AWC asked all candidates who filed to run for state legislative office to answer five questions about issues that are important to cities. The questionnaire helps city officials understand legislative candidate perspectives on city issues. If you don’t see the candidate from your district below, contact them to make sure they plan to complete the questionnaire. If they decline to respond to the questionnaire, ask to meet in person and ask them the five questions personally.

If you choose to support candidates in your private capacity, as is allowed by law, you may want to consider holding your endorsements until you’ve received satisfactory answers from candidates about what they have done or will do to maintain a strong city-state partnership.

A note about city officials’ involvement with elections
As a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization, AWC does not endorse. However, city officials may engage in political activity in their private capacity. City officials are encouraged to read and understand the Public Disclosure Commission’s guidelines prior to endorsing a candidate or supporting or opposing a ballot measure.

District 2
Andrew Barkis
Anneliese Feld

District 4
Ted Cummings

District 5
Lisa Callan
Chad Magendanz
Bill Ramos

District 6
Mike Volz
Dave Wilson

District 7
Jacquelin Maycumber

District 8
Matt Boehnke
Brad Klippert
Christopher Tracy

District 9
Jenn Goulet

District 10
Dave Hayes

District 12
Keith Goehner

District 13
Tom Dent
Judy Warnick

District 14
Sasha Bentley
Chris Corry
Gina Mosbrucker

District 15
Jim Honeyford

District 16
Bill Jenkin
Everett Maroon

District 18
Kathy Gillespie
Larry Hoff

District 21
Lillian Ortiz-Self

District 24
Jim McEntire

District 25
Chris Gildon

District 26
Marty McClendon
Emily Randall

District 28
Maia Espinzoa
Dick Muri

District 30
Kristine Reeves

District 32
Maralyn Chase
Jesse Salomon

District 33
Mia Gregerson

District 34
Joe Fitzgibbon

District 35
Irene Bowling
David Daggett
Drew MacEwen
James Thomas

District 36
Sydney Wissel

District 37
Rebecca Saldana

District 40
Debra Lekanoff

District 39
Carolyn Eslick
Claus Joens
Ivan Lewis
Keith Wagoner

District 41
Tana Senn

District 42
Sharon Shewmake
Luanne Van Werven
Pinky Vargas

District 43
Nicole Macri

District 44
Jeff Sax

District 45
Manka Dhingra

District 47
Mark Hargrove

District 48
Patty Kuderer

Copyright © 2018-2020 Association of Washington Cities